Cauliflower Mash & Lessons in Food Photography

IMG_2766

Cauliflower ranks close to beets in my list of least favorite vegetables.  Along with lacking any color, it’s my opinion that is also fails to taste good unless dipped heavily in some sort of sauce.  Despite its inherent underwhelming nature as a vegetable and less appealing color than broccoli, cauliflower is apparently supposed to be really good for you.  So, in an effort to eat what one Canadian newspaper has declared “the kale of 2014,” I bought a head of cauliflower at the local farmer’s market to try out a cauliflower mash recipe.  “Cauliflower mash” is supposed to be a healthy alternative to mashed potatoes, but in its most basic form, it is cauliflower doused in garlic and butter.  Now that’s a recipe I can try, and at least I’m getting some manganese in the process.

Unfortunately, I learned the hard way that cauliflower, and especially cauliflower mash, do not photograph well.

IMG_2772_2

My best attempt at a pretty photo (Adam added the cheese strips to help)

I should’ve expected this, given that cauliflower mash is essentially a giant glop of white goo, but I thought that possibly my D-SLR would magically turn this colorless blob into a beautiful dish.  What I also realized (too late) was that I had put the cauliflower mash right next to sauteed kale, on a dark blue plate, in a poorly lit kitchen at night.  While sauteed kale is pretty delicious, it also looks  terrible in photos.  So I regret to inform you that these pictures are the best I could do with my cauliflower mash.  Such is trial and error in the food blogging world.  I can assure you, though, that cauliflower mash does in fact taste amazing.  The garlic and butter mask any cauliflower flavor and you’re left with a delicious side dish that is also somewhat good for you – or at least likely better for you than potatoes.

IMG_2774

Here is the recipe I used, which I altered slightly from the one found on The Taylor House.  You should check out her blog if you want to see some prettier photos of cauliflower mash.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium cauliflower
  • 4 ounces cream cheese (we used lowfat)
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

  • Cut head of cauliflower into small florets.  If you don’t know how to do this without hurting yourself, I found helpful instructions on The Kitchn.
  • Bring medium pot of water to a boil & then add cauliflower.  Allow cauliflower to boil for about 10 minutes or until its soft
  • Throw cauliflower into a food processor with other ingredients and follow food processor instructions until its smooth and creamy
  • Top with shredded cheese if you’d like
  • Enjoy butter garlicy deliciousness!
Leave a Reply

