Fruit + Coconut Water Popsicles

IMG_3253

It’s summertime and that means it’s popsicle season!  It’s been pretty hot here in southern California and I’ve been looking for a healthy snack to beat the heat.  Last week I bought a ton of fruit,  so I went searching for a recipe to use piles of blueberries, strawberries and kiwi.  I came across this recipe and decided to bust out our popsicle molds from the cabinet!

IMG_3205

I have to be honest, I am not the biggest fan of coconut water.  I’ve tried a few different brands in a few different flavors and I just don’t get how people love drinking it on its own.  I don’t mind it in smoothies, though, so I decided I would give some Zico Coconut Water a shot in this recipe.  Honestly, it tasted great in the popsicles!  The fruit masks the weird flavor of the coconut water and the water provides extra nutrients that you wouldn’t get from using regular water.  Can’t complain about having a snack that’s delicious and good for you!

I’ll give you the recipe, but if you hadn’t guessed yet, these popsicles are pretty easy to make.  Cut up fruit, put fruit and coconut water into popsicle mold, and freeze.  In a few hours, you have a great frozen dessert!  I definitely recommend using kiwis, they were my favorite part of the popsicle!

IMG_3231

Ingredients:

  • 1 liter bottle of Zico Coconut Water
  • 2-3 kiwi fruit, peeled & sliced
  • ~1/2 cup of fresh blueberries
  • ~1/2 cup of fresh strawberries, sliced
  • 2 popsicle mold sets (for a total of 8 popsicles)

IMG_3226

Directions:

  • Slice strawberries and kiwi fruit.  If you don’t know how to cut up kiwi, you should check out this link.
  • Fill popsicle mold halfway with coconut water.
  • Drop kiwi, strawberries and blueberries into mold.  You can either insert the tops into the mold right away or wait about 20 minutes for the liquid to begin freezing.  I waited 15 minutes, but honestly I’m not sure if it makes a difference.
  • Freeze for at least 3 hours before serving.  I personally recommend letting them freeze overnight for the best result.
  • Pour slightly warm water over the mold to help them thaw before pulling the popsicle out.  Otherwise you might end up separating the popsicle stick with a popsicle stuck in the mold!

Image

2 thoughts on “Fruit + Coconut Water Popsicles

  1. Pingback: Coconut Water Fruit Pops | Hiit Blog

Leave a Reply

