Mango Banana Green Smoothie

IMG_3277

If you had told me a few years ago that I would like smoothies filled with spinach and kale, I would’ve laughed at you.  First, I would’ve probably asked you what the heck kale was.  Then I would’ve said that there was no way I was going to drink my greens.  Sure, I enjoyed a spinach salad every once in awhile, but no way it would taste good in a smoothie?

What I learned is that you can’t even taste the vegetables you put in a green smoothie.  In fact, the beauty of the green smoothie is it tastes like the fruit you put in it.  So why not add some greens to your typical smoothie and boost your veggie count for the day?  That’s why this recipe is called a “mango banana green smoothie.”  Sure, it has spinach and kale in it, but it really just tastes like a tropical mango and banana smoothie!

I almost titled this post “Perfecting the Green Smoothie” because I am constantly changing the recipe to create the most delicious smoothie ever.  I used to put greek yogurt in my smoothies to make it creamy, but I’ve been trying to cut down on my dairy intake.  A friend recently suggested adding half an avocado to the smoothie.  Wouldn’t you know, the avocado acts almost as a total replacement for creaminess?  Plus I’m basically obsessed with avocados anyway, so I was excited about this new addition.  I’ve also evolved to adding chia seeds and flaxseed meal to the blender.  As my parents would say, flaxseed meal helps the smoothie “stick to your ribs” and keeps you feeling fuller longer.  It also has a lot of nutritional benefits.  Pretty much everything in this smoothie contributes to your health in some way, though.  So I encourage you to not be afraid of a green smoothie and try this recipe out!

IMG_3316

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup kale
  • ~1/2 cup frozen mango pieces
  • 1/2 frozen banana  (Make sure to cut the banana in half before you freeze it! Made that mistake before.)
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1-2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon flaxseed meal
  • Ice cubes (if needed)

This recipe makes roughly an 8 oz smoothie – if you want more, double the recipe or add more of whichever ingredients you’d like!  I made this one with my Magic Bullet because our bigger blender was dirty.  Surprisingly it did pretty well in blending up the greens!  If you want the ultimate vegetable blender, though, invest in a VitaMix – it somehow makes green smoothies without a fleck of unblended vegetables.

IMG_3258

Directions:

  • Add spinach, kale and almond milk to blender.  Blend those first to get the greens as well blended as possible.
  • Throw in banana, avocado, mango and almond butter.  Top with chia seeds and flaxseed meal.  Blend until combined.
  • If it isn’t the consistency you want, add ice or almond milk accordingly.
  • Try not to drink too fast!

IMG_3323

Leave a Reply

