Patriotic Fruit Pops

20140618_144159

USA! USA! I believe that we will win!

Given our nation’s enhanced patriotism right now with the current World Cup and upcoming 4th of July, I figured I should make a red, white and blue recipe for my next blog post.  I know I recently made some coconut water fruit pops, but I think these are great for an easy, healthy and patriotic treat!

Plus, to be honest, these are a bit of a different beast than just plopping some fruit in coconut water.  This recipe requires some patience and blending skills.  But when those popsicles come out in red, white and blue stripes like a rocket pop, you’ll be super excited.  I know I was!

IMG_20140616_124802

All you need is a frozen banana, frozen blueberries, frozen strawberries and coconut water.  The key to this recipe is getting the right consistency for each layer.  The mixture should be icy, but not so icy that it won’t connect to the other fruit layers.  After experimenting a lot, I found that the best consistency has a slushy quality that pours slowly.  You can get away with the top layer being a little more liquid, but it may leak down into other layers if they aren’t icy enough to hold it.  It’s very much a recipe that requires different amounts for different popsicle molds.  To be safe, I recommend making it pretty icy at first, and then slowly adding coconut water to make it a more slushy texture.

You definitely need a blender or food processor for this recipe.  I tried using both my Magic Bullet and my food processor and honestly, my Magic Bullet did a better job with blending the ingredients, especially when I used the smallest cup!  As long as you have something that will blend together the ingredients, though, you should be okay.

20140618_143413(0)

Ingredients:

  • 1 bottle coconut water
  • 1/2 bag frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 bag frozen blueberries
  • 1 frozen banana (or 2 frozen halves if you freeze them in 1/2 size like me)
  • 2 sets of 4 popsicle holders (for 8 popsicles total)

Directions:

  • Blend frozen strawberries with coconut water and continue blending until you get a firm but slushy quality.
  • Pour frozen strawberry mixture into popsicle mold.
  • Duplicate with frozen banana mixture.
  • Finish with frozen blueberry mixture on top.  If they’re all the similar consistency, they should just sit on top of each other rather than blending together.
  • Let freeze for about 10-15 minutes, then put popsicle mold into mixture and freeze overnight.
  • Pour warm water over them and serve at your World Cup or 4th of July party!

If you accidentally get the colors mixed together, just say that they’re “abstract” patriotic pops.  I used that excuse for some of my less pretty popsicles and my friends liked the mixed together ones just as much as the striped ones!

photo (58)

 

 

Leave a Reply

