Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie

IMGP8732

I admit it, I’m a stereotypical white girl.  I love fall.  I love pumpkins and apple cider and brown boots and sweaters and all the leaves on the trees changing colors.  And I really, really love pumpkin spice lattes.  Judge me all you want, but those things are delicious. It has been so hot here, though, that I have been trying to hold off on drinking one until it is October.  I know I can get an iced one, but they’re not the same.  I want to have one when there’s  a slight chill in the air and I can enjoy holding a warm cup between my hands.  So while it’s been difficult to stop myself from just ordering one from the Starbucks I walk by every day, I’ve been using other fall recipes to try to keep my cravings at bay.

IMGP8720IMGP8733

This pumpkin pie green smoothie is one of the ways I’ve been holding off my PSL cravings.  You would think that pumpkin puree wouldn’t be that good for you – I mean pumpkin pie isn’t the healthiest thing – but pureed pumpkin in and of itself actually has a number of health benefits, including nutrients like fiber and iron.  Now I’m not recommending you drink a pumpkin smoothie every morning, but when you’re hankering for a pumpkin spice latte or a slice of pumpkin pie, you can use this healthy recipe as an alternative!  When you combine the pumpkin puree, maple syrup and vanilla protein powder (especially Juice Plus Vanilla Complete, my fave!) it smells like fall and tastes like pumpkin pie.  Yummmmmm.

IMGP8725

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 teaspoon chia seeds
  • Handful of spinach
  • Almond milk
  • 1/3 – 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 – 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • 1-2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • Dash of cinnamon

IMGP8747

Directions:

  • Blend spinach and almond milk
  • Add the remaining ingredients and blend
  • Add ice if needed to thicken!

photo (63)

So what about you? Do you have any healthy fall recipes that you suggest I try?

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Green Smoothie

Leave a Reply

