Vegan Apple Flax Muffins

IMGP9361

This week, I discovered the deliciousness of honeycrisp apples.  I had heard how wonderful honeycrisp apples were, but I never believed they could be better than another apple variety.  But I have to say, these apples are really, really good.  I actually had to restrain myself from just eating all of the apples plain instead of putting them in these muffins.  Seriously, I was chopping them up and eating the slices instead of adding them to the batter.  It was bad.  I have no self-control.

IMGP9330_2

Still, it was worth it to sacrifice one to this recipe.  Adam’s grandmother recommended that I try making these healthy (ish) muffins when we were in Michigan.  They were already filled with nutritious goodness like whole wheat flour and flaxseed meal, but to make them even healthier I also used coconut oil and almond milk.  On top of that, I replaced the egg in the recipe with apple sauce to make these babies vegan.  The result is a hearty, dense muffin with pops of apple and nut flavors that pair great with a morning cup of coffee.  If you’re feeling adventurous, you may even want to try making these with cinnamon applesauce.  In fact, maybe I’ll go make more right now.  Not like I’m looking for an excuse to buy more honeycrisp apples or anything.  Yeah, I know, I’m a bad liar.

IMGP9345

Ingredients:

Makes 12 muffins

  • 1/4 cup flaxseed meal
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten OR 1/3 cup apple sauce (or cinnamon apple sauce!!)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups finely chopped apples (skins on or off)
  • 3 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used pecans)

Directions:

  • Blend dry ingredients together in a bowl
  • In separate bowl, combine applesauce (or egg), oil + milk
  • Add dry ingredients to applesauce mixture + stir until just blended
  • Fold in apples + nuts (batter will be thick!)
  • Fill well-greased muffin cups 2/3 full
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 18-20 minutes or until top springs back when touched
4 thoughts on “Vegan Apple Flax Muffins

  1. These look delish! Thanks for sharing! I’m curious…have you been able to decrease or omit the sugar with good results? In other words, is the sugar more for flavor than texture/body? If it’s for flavor, maybe the applesauce would compensate? Thank you in advance!

    • Hmmm that’s a good question! I haven’t experimented with the sugar levels, although I did originally consider subbing in some brown sugar for the white. I think the flaxseed meal and two different types of flour are the main characteristics of the texture, so applesauce would probably compensate if you wanted to eliminate some or all of the white sugar, especially if you used a sweeter applesauce. If you try it, let me know how it goes!

  2. I made these last night and they’re delish! I strayed a little from the recipe, but not much. I used all whole wheat pastry flour, omitted all the extra sugar (except for a little sprinkle on top of each one), I used grapeseed oil instead of coconut (because it was late and I was too lazy to melt my coconut oil), and I added 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 2 teaspoons vanilla (next time I’ll add more). And I used the applesauce for the egg option. They turned out really well! They could use a bit more sweetness, so next time I may use mashed ripe banana instead of applesauce and see how it goes. But as it stands now, they’re lightly sweet and nutty. A very good breakfast option if you don’t want like tons of sweetness first thing in the morning (which I don’t).

    Thanks for the recipe! I’m taking them to our church potluck today and can’t wait to tell people how healthy these are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

